Judging criteria include but are not limited to the following:

  • 01

    Achievement in utilizing designs to increase sales, lower costs, and improve product qualities, productivity and profitability.

  • 02

    Achievement in utilizing designs to enhance sustainability in urban environment, social and economic development, and to improve quality of lives in cities.

  • 03

    Achievement in utilizing designs to contribute to the transformation of local economies, of social development, and of cities’ development.

  • 04

    Achievement in developing cultural diversity based on traditional cultures.

  • 05

    International recognition, commercial and societal success in designs.

  • 06

    Achievement in uniqueness, creativity, originality, innovation, aesthetics, sustainability, use of technology, user-friendliness in designs.


The judging process will consist of two stages of detailed assessments, based on the actual products, images and additional supporting materials submitted by the entrants.

  • 01

    First Stage

    First Stage Judging will be carried out by the nominators according to the judging criteria listed above. Each nominator will decide how many entrants it will recommend.

  • 02

    Second Stage

    An International Jury would convene in Shenzhen. Actual design works and supporting materials will be displayed side by side for the jurors to evaluate. All award winners will be selected at the end of the second stage.


The organization and final judging of this Shenzhen Design Award for Young Talents has been very smooth. Jury members from Beijing and Hangzhou China, Austria, Australia, Indonesia and the USA have chosen in one day the winners of the Grand Award and Merit Award in the professional group, and New Star Award in the student group. The topic of this competition - Inclusive Design - is well set because at present design is facing societal transformation in terms of professional practice and research. Design being inclusive indicates per se a change of concerns and attributes and having inclusive design as the topic for competition creates much space for possibilities and flexibility. Quite a number of entries have presented their interpretation of this theme. Such social subjects are discussed internationally which will further guide the discussions in design in China from educational organizations to professional institutes. These discussions will reinforce the role of design in social development and transformation as well as in promoting sustainable development in the society, which reflect as well the attention from the UNESCO in topics of design.


The competition has a wide range of participant projects and winners, including South Africa, Canada, Indonesia, China mainland and Macao and many more. Categories are also diverse. The Grand Award winner project in the professional group starts from children’s language-learning process in an environment such as the supermarket and connects design with education via typography design as a tool for communication. The project presents a complete picture with highlight on the topic as it combines the professional aspect and societal aspect of design. Overall the international jury of SDAY this year spoke highly of the competition.